NEWS: Buy stuff online? New California tax law takes effect Monday, but the rules might change
Beginning next week, online out-of-state retailers who make more than 200 transactions or $100,000 in California will have to register with the state and begin collecting sales tax. In an effort to make the new law more fair for small businesses, Assembly Democrats are seeking to pass a new bill, AB 147, that would raise the sales threshold to $500,000. Under the proposed bill, the state would collect an additional $787 million in just the next two years.
Click here to read the full article at the Sacramento Bee.