The Howard Jarvis Taxpayers Association has released its 2018 Legislative Report Card grading lawmakers on legislative bills important to taxpayers.  The Report Card is a non-partisan tool to help taxpayers hold legislators accountable by tracking their individual votes.

Overall 77 legislators failed the scorecard while 34 got a grade of “A.” Thirteen legislators received perfect scores in 2018: Assembly Members Catharine Baker, Frank Bigelow, Bill Brough, Phil Chen, Heath Flora, Kevin Kiley, Tom Lackey, Devon Mathis, Melissa Melendez, Jay Obernolte, Marc Steinorth and Randy Voepel and State Senator Mike Morrell.

“While the scores have slightly improved from a year ago, mainly because no new taxes were approved by the Legislature this year, the long-term trend is not positive,” said HJTA President Jon Coupal. “With tax-and-spend legislators holding a commanding two-thirds supermajority in both the Assembly and Senate, taxpayers need to be on guard for attacks against Proposition 13 as well as new tax exactions including a new sales tax on services.”

To review the Report Card in its entirety and to see how individual representatives scored, please click here: https://www.hjta.org/legislation/report-cards/

To find the names and contact information for your representatives, go online to http://findyourrep.legislature.ca.gov.