

 $Home \rightarrow Legislation \rightarrow Legislative Report Cards$

LEGISLATIVE REPORT CARDS

2017 HJTA Legislative Report Card

Our report card is designed to help Californians gauge how their state representatives are actually performing on taxpayer-related issues including tax increases and direct attacks on Proposition 13. Ten legislators received perfect scores in 2017: Assembly Members Travis Allen, Brian Dahle, Vince Fong, Jay Obernolte and Jim Patterson, and State Senators Joel Anderson, Patricia Bates, Jean Fuller, Mike Morrell and Jeff Stone.

Please know that it is very important to HJTA that this process be as fair and non-partisan as possible. To aid in this objective, we have given half-credit for all vote abstentions. We believe those legislators with the courage to abstain as opposed to always pushing the green button should be rewarded in some fashion.

We encourage you to see how your legislators scored, noting especially that very few of them have received the HJTA standard of excellence—a grade of "A." Then we'd also encourage you to take the next — and most important — step, and contact your legislator's office to express your support or concern.

The 2017 scores stem from 22 bills. For more information about our methodology e-mail Legislative Director David Wolfe at: david@hjta.org

		Se	earch:			
DISTRICT	 	÷ PARTY	\$ GRADE	\$ % \$		
38	Acosta	R	Α	91.7		
4	Aguiar-Curry	D	F	4.7		
72	Allen	R	А	100		
31	Arambula	D	F	14.6		
16	Baker	R	С	76		
24	Berman	D	F	3.8		
5	Bigelow	R	А	93.7		
50	Bloom	D	F	5		
39	Bocanegra	D	С	3.4		

DISTRICT	ASSEMBLY MEMBER	PARTY	GRADE	%
18	Bonta	D	F	2
73	Brough	R	Α	92.3
62	Burke	D	F	3.4
30	Caballero	D	F	28.3
57	Calderon	D	F	6
60	Cervantes	D	D	54
49	Chau	D	F	3.7
76	Chavez	R	В	89.4
55	Chen	R	A	96
17	Chiu	D	F	1.9
68	Choi	R	A	90.8
25	Chu	D	F	4
8	Cooley	D	F	10.4
9	Cooper	D	F	6
35	Cunningham	R	В	87.5
45	Dababneh	D	С	8

DISTRICT	ASSEMBLY MEMBER	PARTY	GRADE	%
1	Dahle	R	Α	100
69	Daly	D	F	12
13	Eggman	D	F	15.2
12	Flora	R	С	79.1
34	Fong	R	Α	100
11	Frazier	D	F	16
43	Friedman	D	F	2
3	Gallagher	R	Α	93.7
58	Garcia, C.	D	F	6.3
56	Garcia, E	D	F	6.3
64	Gipson	D	F	4
78	Gloria	D	F	4.2
80	Gonzalez Fletcher	D	F	1.7
21	Gray	D	F	19.6
14	Grayson	D	F	10
74	Harper	R	А	98

DISTRICT	ASSEMBLY MEMBER	PARTY	GRADE	%
41	Holden	D	F	6.3
44	Irwin	D	F	43.8
59	Jones-Sawyer	D	F	4.2
27	Kalra	D	F	1.9
6	Kiley	R	Α	97.9
36	Lackey	R	A	96.9
10	Levine	D	F	12.5
37	Limon	D	F	5.6
28	Low	D	F	4
77	Maienschein	R	В	83.3
26	Mathis	R	В	89
42	Mayes	R	В	82.6
7	McCarty	D	F	4.2
61	Medina	D	F	6
67	Melendez	R	A	91.6
22	Mullin	D	F	3.8

DISTRICT	ASSEMBLY MEMBER	PARTY	GRADE	%
66	Muratsuchi	D	F	23.9
46	Nazarian	D	F	6
33	Obernolte	R	Α	100
70	O'Donnell	D	F	7.6
23	Patterson	R	Α	100
20	Quirk	D	F	4
65	Quirk-Silva	D	D	52
63	Rendon	D	F	2.1
47	Reyes	D	F	4.2
54	Ridley-Thomas	D	F	11.6
52	Rodriguez	D	F	4
48	Rubio	D	С	6.3
32	Salas	D	F	35.4
53	Santiago	D	F	4.2
40	Steinorth	R	В	84
29	Stone	D	F	8

DISTRICT	ASSEMBLY MEMBER	PARTY	GRADE	%
15	Thurmond	D	F	4.2
19	Ting	D	F	2.1
71	Voepel	R	А	98.4
75	Waldron	R	А	95
79	Weber	D	F	4
2	Wood	D	F	4.2

Showing 1 to 79 of 79 entries

DISTRICT	* SENATOR	PARTY	\$ GRADE	\$ % \$
26	Allen	D	F	6.3
38	Anderson	R	Α	100
39	Atkins	D	F	6.5
36	Bates	R	А	100
15	Beall	D	F	8.5
8	Berryhill	R	В	80.5
35	Bradford	D	F	8.7

Search:

DISTRICT	SENATOR	PARTY	GRADE	%
12	Cannella	R	F	48.4
24	De Leon	D	F	10.9
3	Dodd	D	F	8.6
16	Fuller	R	Α	100
1	Gaines	R	А	90.7
5	Galgiani	D	F	15.2
7	Glazer	D	F	23.9
22	Hernandez	D	F	10.6
18	Hertzberg	D	F	12.5
13	Hill	D	F	7.1
40	Hueso	D	F	19.5
19	Jackson	D	F	8.7
33	Lara	D	F	9.7
20	Leyva	D	F	12
2	McGuire	D	F	8.5
32	Mendoza	D	F	8.1

DISTRICT	SENATOR	PARTY	GRADE	%
30	Mitchell	D	F	6.5
17	Monning	D	F	6.5
37	Moorlach	R	В	89.4
23	Morrell	R	А	100
29	Newman	D	F	15.2
34	Nguyen	R	А	90.8
4	Nielsen	R	А	95.6
6	Pan	D	F	10.9
25	Portantino	D	F	10.9
31	Roth	D	F	21
9	Skinner	D	F	4.4
27	Stern	D	F	7.4
28	Stone	R	А	100
14	Vidak	R	A	94.2
10	Wieckowski	D	F	10.6
11	Wiener	D	F	3.2

DISTRICT	SENATOR	PARTY	GRADE	%
21	Wilk	R	В	82.6

Showing 1 to 40 of 40 entries

Assembly Member Jimmy Gomez did not receive a grade due to his being elected to Congress.

Assembly Member Dababneh automatically receives a "C" grade for his carrying of Assembly Bill 1194.

Assembly Member Rubio automatically receives a "C" grade for her carrying of Assembly Bill 1625.

Assembly Member Bocanegra automatically receives a "C" grade for his carrying of Assembly Bill 1322.

Regarding SB 231, only votes taken after August 28th are included due to its being a gut-and-amend proposal,

Regarding SB 797, only votes taken after June 26th are included due to its being a gut-and-amend proposal.

Regarding AB 102, AB 398, AB 1194, AB 1367, SB 5, SB 117 and SB 595, only final floor votes in the Assembly and Senate are included.

 $\hbox{@}$ Howard Jarvis Taxpayers Association 2018