## **2019 HJTA LEGISLATIVE REPORT CARD**

Our report card is designed to help Californians gauge how their state representatives are actually performing on taxpayer-related issues, including but not limited to tax increases and direct attacks on Proposition 13.

This year, we changed our scoring system slightly to remove policy committee votes so that only floor votes are considered. This allows all legislators to vote on a bill at the same time and removes the potential risk of grade inflation. Abstention votes on legislation count as half credit.

For the first time, a Democrat — Assemblywoman Cottie Petrie-Norris (Laguna Beach) — received a perfect 100 percent. Fourteen other legislators also received perfect scores: Assembly Members Bill Brough, Vince Fong, Tom Lackey, Devon Mathis, Melissa Melendez, Jay Obernolte and Randy Voepel, and State Senators Patricia Bates, Ling Ling Chang, Senate Republican Leader Shannon Grove, Brian Jones, Mike Morrell, Jeff Stone and Scott Wilk.

The 2019 scores stem from nine bills. For more information about our methodology and scoring system, go to <a href="www.hjta.org">www.hjta.org</a>, or e-mail Legislative Director David Wolfe at <a href="david@hjta.org">david@hjta.org</a>, Find your representatives at <a href="findyourrep.legislature.ca.gov">findyourrep.legislature.ca.gov</a> or in the White Pages.

SENATOR SUMMARY								
SENATOR	PARTY	GRADE	%					
Allen	D	F	0					
Archuleta	D	F	6.3					
Atkins	D	F	0					
Bates	R	Α	100					
Beall	D	F	0					
Borgeas	R	Α	93.8					
Bradford	D	F	0					
Caballero	D	F	0					
Chang	R	Α	100					
Dahle	R	В	80					
Dodd	D	F	6.3					
Durazo	D	F	0					
Galgiani	D	F	12.5					
Glazer	D	F	18.8					
Gonzalez	D	F	0					
Grove	R	Α	100					
Hertzberg	D	F	6.3					
Hill	D	F	0					
Hueso	D	F	0					
Hurtado	D	F	18.8					
Jackson	D	F	0					
Jones	R	Α	100					
Leyva	D	F	0					
McGuire	D	F	0					
Mitchell	D	F	6.3					
Monning	D	F	0					
Moorlach	R	C	75					
Morrell	R	Α	100					
Nielsen	R	В	87.5					
Pan	D	F	0					
Portantino	D	F	0					
Roth	D	F	12.5					
Rubio, Susan	D	F	0					
Skinner	D	F	0					
Stern	D	F	0					
Stone	R	Α	100					
Umberg	D	F	31.3					
Wieckowski	D	F	0					
Wiener	D	F	0					
Wilk	R	Α	100					

ASSEMBLY MEMBER SUMMARY									
ASSEMBLY MEMBER	PARTY	GRADE	%	ASSEMBLY MEMBER	PARTY	GRADE	%		
Aguiar-Curry	D	F	0	Kalra	D	F	0		
Arambula	D	F	5	Kamlager-Dove	D	F	4.5		
Bauer-Kahan	D	D	59.1	Kiley	R	Α	90.9		
Berman	D	F	0	Lackey	R	Α	100		
Bigelow	R	Α	90.9	Levine	D	F	31.8		
Bloom	D	F	0	Limon	D	F	0		
Boerner Horvath	D	D	68.1	Low	D	F	0		
Bonta	D	F	0	Maienschein	D	F	31.8		
Brough	R	Α	100	Mathis	R	Α	100		
Burke	D	F	0	Mayes	R	D	63.6		
Calderon	D	F	4.5	McCarty	D	F	0		
Carrillo	D	F	0	Medina	D	F	4.5		
Cervantes	D	В	86.3	Melendez	R	Α	100		
Chau	D	F	0	Mullin	D	F	0		
Chen	R	Α	90.9	Muratsuchi	D	F	36.4		
Chiu	D	F	0	Nazarian	D	F	4.5		
Choi	R	Α	95.4	Obernolte	R	Α	100		
Chu	D	F	0	O'Donnell	D	F	4.5		
Cooley	D	F	40.8	Patterson	R	Α	95.4		
Cooper	D	F	4.5	Petrie-Norris	D	Α	100		
Cunningham	R	В	81.8	Quirk	D	F	0		
Daly	D	F	22.7	Quirk-Silva	D	Α	90.9		
Diep	R	В	86.3	Ramos	D	F	27.3		
Eggman	D	F	0	Rendon	D	F	0		
Flora	R	Α	90.9	Reyes	D	F	0		
Fong	R	Α	100	Rivas, Luz	D	F	0		
Frazier	D	F	27.1	Rivas, Robert	D	F	0		
Friedman	D	F	0	Rodriguez	D	F	4.5		
Gabriel	D	F	4.5	Rubio	D	F	9.1		
Gallagher	R	Α	95.4	Salas	D	В	86.3		
Garcia, C.	D	F	22.7	Santiago	D	F	0		
Garcia, E	D	F	13.6	Smith	D	D	54.6		
Gipson	D	F	0	Stone	D	F	0		
Gloria	D	F	0	Ting	D	F	0		
Gonzalez	D	F	18.2	Voepel	R	Α	100		
Gray	D	F	13.6	Waldron	R	Α	90.9		
Grayson	D	F	4.5	Weber	D	F	0		
Holden	D	F	0	Wicks	D	F	0		
Irwin	D	D	68.1	Wood	D	F	0		
Jones-Sawyer	D	F	0						

## **SENATOR SUMMARY:**

## ASSEMBLY MEMBER SUMMARY:

**A = 8** (90–100%) **B = 2** (80–89%) **C = 1** (70–79%)

C = 1 (70-79%) C = 0 (70-79%) D = 0 (51-69%) D = 5 (51-69%)F = 29 (0-50%) F = 53 (0-50%)

**A = 17** (90–100%) **B = 4** (80–89%) **C = 0** (70–79%) Brian Dahle resigned his Assembly seat in Assembly District 1 after winning a special election for the Senate District 1 seat. His Assembly votes are included in his Senate score.

Due to Assembly District 1 being vacant, only 79 Assembly Members are scored.

For AB 116, AB 723 and SB 268, only floor votes taken in September are included in the scorecard due to the bills being gutted and amended.

For SB 96, only the final floor votes in both the Assembly and Senate are counted in the scorecard. For SB 128, only votes taken before March 30 are counted due to the bill being gutted and amended.