The following are the **only official** recommendations of the Howard Jarvis Taxpayers Association and the Howard Jarvis Taxpayers Association Political Action Committee.

## JUNE 3, 2014, BALLOT RECOMMENDATIONS FOR TAXPAYERS

The Howard Jarvis Taxpayers Association takes positions on issues of direct concern to taxpayers. We also may take positions on ballot measures that will impact the economy. This is because, as taxpayers, we know from painful experience that when the economy turns sour and tax revenues go down, governments' usual first reaction is to reach for the taxpayer's wallet.

HJTA recommends:

Prop. 41 Veterans Housing Bonds

# PLEASE NOTE: HJTA has changed its position on these bonds after additional information was brought to our attention by several alert HJTA Members.

Usually veterans bonds provide low interest mortgage loans to those who served our country. These bonds are repaid by the veterans themselves and Howard Jarvis always supported these bonds. However, a more detailed review shows that Prop. 41 bonds will be used to construct low income housing and the costs will be paid by state taxpayers.

### VOTE NO!

Prop. 42: Requires local governments to comply with Brown Act and Public Records Act regardless of whether or not they are reimbursed by the state.

Very important to guarantee that local taxpayers have access to public records.

VOTE YES!

## JUNE 3, 2014, CANDIDATE RECOMMENDATIONS FOR TAXPAYERS

The Howard Jarvis Taxpayers Association Political Action Committee makes recommendations on candidates based on their declared support for Proposition 13 and taxpayers' rights.

HJTA-PAC has endorsed:

### Congress

CD 3 Dan Logue
CD 4 Tom McClintock
CD 24 Chris Mitchum
CD 25 Stephen Knight
CD 26 Jeff Gorell
CD 31 Paul Chabot
CD 43 John R. Wood
CD 52 Carl DeMajo

### **Constitutional Offices**

Lt. Gov. Ron Nehring Sec. of State Pete Peterson Insurance Commissioner Ted Gaines BOE Dist. 1 George Runner BOE Dist. 4 Diane Harkey Attorney General Phil Wyman

### State Senate

SD 10 Peter Kuo
SD 16 Andy Vidak
SD 20 Matthew Munson
SD 24 William Rodriquez Morrison
SD 32 Mario A. Guerra
SD 34 Janet Nguyen
SD 36 Pat Bates

### State Assembly

AD 3 James Gallagher

AD 8 Doug Haaland

- AD 10 Gregory Allen
- AD 20 Jaime Patino
- AD 26 Rudy Mendoza
- AD 36 Tom Lackey
- AD 38 Scott Wilk
- AD 40 Marc Steinorth
- AD 42 Chad Mayes
- AD 44 Mario de la Piedra
- AD 45 Susan Shelley
- AD 46 Zachary Taylor
- AD 48 Joe Gardner
- AD 65 Young Kim
- AD 66 David Hadley
- AD 70 John Goya

#### Local

Costa Mesa City Council Jim Righeimer Los Angeles Co. Assessor John Morris Los Angeles Co. Supervisor Dist. 3 Yuval Kremer Long Beach Mayor Damon Dunn (in runoff) Orange Co. Assessor Claude Parrish Orange Co. Sup., Dist. 2 Michelle Steel Orange Co. Sup., Dist. 2 Michelle Steel Orange Co. Sup., Dist. 4 Shawn Nelson Orange Co. Sup., Dist. 5 Robert Ming Orange Co. Treasurer Shari Freidenrich Riverside Co. Supervisor Dist. 4 John Benoit Sacramento Co. DA Anne Marie Schubert San Bernardino Co. Assessor Bob Dutton San Bernardino Co. Supervisor Dist. 4 Curt Hagman San Diego Co. DA Bonnie Dumanis

These are the **only official** recommendations of the Howard Jarvis Taxpayers Association and the Howard Jarvis Taxpayers Association Political Action Committee.

PLEASE CHECK BACK PERIODICALLY FOR UPDATES